The Sade Experience

Happy Hump Day Everyone!

ThatKellieGirl is back.  I was on a mini-vacation celebrating my birthday.  As my honey said, we’ve been celebrating for two weeks.  Can we get back to normal now? 🙂  Anyone who knows me knows that celebrating my birthday is a part of my religion.  Now don’t get me wrong, I cherish every day.  However, there is something about taking the time to honor and celebrate the day you were born.  So what better way than to celebrate my born-day than at the Sade concert in Baltimore.

Photo by Michael Caulfield/WireImage.com

So the concert opened with John Legend.  Overall he did a great job.  However, I kept thinking he would be better or should I say, more impactful if he performed in a smaller venue.  I don’t  want to make him a lounge singer, but some artists are better enjoyed in a more intimate setting.

One of the many reasons I love John Legend is his “rat-pack“-esque songs with a gospel infused soul. I loved that he opened his set with Adele’s “Rolling In The Deep,” and his rendition gave her a run for her money. I actually liked his better!  However, this evening, I was quite impressed with his piano-playing skills.  It was beautiful and impeccable.  He did all the songs we loved– “Used to Love Her”, “Lifted”, and “Ordinary People”.  He also sang songs from his new album, “Wake Up” and “Shine”.  He closed out with Green Light which finally got everyone up and moving.

One down note (for me) though were John’s background singers.  I was not feeling their attire.  It just did not complement the feel and look of the show.  John and his band wore suits while the background singers wore VERY fitted stretch pants and cut-off tanks tops.  Huh?!  I expected some classic but sexy dresses similar to what EnVogue wore in “Giving Him Something He Can Feel“. Get my drift!

On to the main act…Sade!

All I can say is that this is one of the best concerts I have seen in a while.  I heard she has a track record for giving great concert performances.  She came out blazing with “Solider of Love.” The curtain lift and red back drop were very dramatic as Sade was welcomed back by her fans.  She looked magnificent…her black cat suit fit her like a glove with her black strappy heels.

Courtesy of WireImage.com

She was sensual, classy, feminine and beautiful without being overly sexual.  She quickly changed into her flats (I know that’s right!) and proceeded with her concert.  For her third outfit change, she let down her signature bun into long flowing curls and wore a white dress with red lace bra or camisole peaking through.  Again,”Classy, Not Trashy“!  For her finale, she wore a gorgeous red dress.

When it’s all said and done, Sade knows how to put on a show…no gimmicks.  Her voice was the main attraction.  Her voice truly shone in my favorite number Hurts like Brand new Shoes “Pearls”.  No band, no props, just some lighting and her voice.  However her band rivals at a close second.  It is one of the best concert bands I have heard.  And her saxophonist truly carried her signature songs as “Smooth Operator”, “Is It A Crime”, “Kiss of Life”, “Jezebel” and “Kiss of Life”.  And one of her background singers is the incomparable Tony Momrelle.  Check out his video.  You can’t get any better than that!

I also was impressed with her stage set-up.  She used powerful and stunning images.  Throughout the show, Sade she was illuminated shrouded by a translucent curtain reflecting beautiful images of Sade in a field of flowers to a New York skyline.  The lighting was on cue and provided dramatic effect to her performance.  Check out this great interview with Sade about creating the perfect live show.

Sade’s performance is on my top 10 list of concerts.  My goal is to see all the “Legends”, so Stevie is next on the list.

If you went to the Baltimore show or will attend the D.C. show this evening, let me know what you think about Sade’s performance.  You are in for a treat!

Here’s some video of the concert. Enjoy!

2 comments

  1. Hey, I liked John Legend’s background singers. I thought they were quite snazzy. One nit, the song is Pearls, not Hurts Like Brand New Shoes.

    • I thought their moves and energy were snazzy, but the outfits “thumbs down”. And thanks for the heads up. I know it’s incorrect, but that’s how I always refer to the song! 🙂

Leave a comment